A school swimming team from Ramsey is heading to a national competition in Sheffield with support from the Isle of Man Steam Packet Company.


The five-strong freestyle relay team from Bunscoill Rhumsaa will represent the North West Division at the English Schools Swimming Association Primary Team Championships on 17th June. The Steam Packet Company is assisting with the cost of travel to and from the UK.


The Key Stage 2 team qualified for the competition during the school’s annual swimming gala. Their time for the 4 x 1 length freestyle class ensured Bunscoill Rhumsaa would be one of just 24 schools represented at the national competition.


Madison McMullan, Tomai Parry, Erin Corkill, Aalish Crowe and reserve Louisa Boyes will travel out to swim for the school and Island on 16th June.


Teacher Juan Garrett said: ‘It is a great honour to qualify for the finals and the team is now very excited to represent not only the Isle of Man, but the whole of the North West region in the English Schools Swimming Association Finals at the Ponds Forge International Sports Centre in Sheffield.


‘It is a huge achievement for the girls and a wonderful opportunity. As they are aged between nine and 11 they need to be accompanied by adults, so there will actually be 11 people travelling in all. We are hugely grateful to the Isle of Man Steam Packet Company for assisting us with the cost of travel, which has helped make attending the finals possible.’


Steam Packet Company Chief Executive Mark Woodward added: ‘The team from Bunscoill Rhumsaa have already done amazingly well to win in the North West Division, and we wish them the very best representing the school and the Island at the national finals. We are delighted to be able to do our bit to help the team wave the flag for the Isle of Man, it will be a great experience for the girls.’

Photograph: The Bunscoill Rhumsaa freestyle relay team which will compete at the national finals in Sheffield with Isle of Man Steam Packet Company support; (back row left to right) Madison McMullan, Tomai Parry and Erin Corkill, (front row left to right) Aalish Crowe and Louisa Boyes